The Market


The 2023 Concours of Elegance photo-gallery

The 2023 Concours of Elegance photo-gallery 3rd September 2023

Over three days last weekend, even by its own high standards ‘the UK’s Pebble Beach’ surpassed itself. Once the early morning wet weather had passed on Friday, visitors at Hampton Court Palace were treated to one of the best displays of cars yet.

A highlight was the line-up of 23 former Le Mans racing cars, including 10 winners and four double winners. These were joined by the ex-Baillon Collection Ferrari 250 GT SWB California Spider now returned from 'barn-find' to concours lawn perfection, the gold, very special ‘Dembiermont Miura SV’ bought at this event in 2020 turning a wheel for the first time since a nut-and-bolt restoration in Italy, and ‘OKV 3’, the third works Jaguar D-type built for Le Mans exquisitely put back to how it raced in France in 1954 by DK Engineering for owner Vijay Mallya.

Californian architect Jonathan Segal won Best in Show – determined by the owners themselves, allowed to vote for one car other than their own – with his Maserati A6GCS/53 Frua Spider, pictured, above left.

Full List of Winners

* Best in Show: 1955 Maserati A6GCS/53 Frua Spider

* Pre-1920: 1913 Hispano-Suiza 14/45HP ‘Alfonso XIII’
* 1920s: 1929 Bentley Speed Six ‘Old Number One’
* 1930s: 1934 Bugatti Type 59
* 1950s: 1956 Jaguar XKSS
1* 960s: 1961 Ferrari 250 GT SWB California Spider
* 1970s: 1971 Lamborghini Miura P400 SV
* Future Classics: 2023 Aston Martin Valkyrie
* Le Mans – 1920s and 1930s: 1929 Bentley Speed Six ‘Old Number One’
* Le Mans – 1950s and 1960s: 1964 Ferrari 250 LM
* Le Mans – 1970s to Present Day: 1972 Ferrari 365 GTB/4 Daytona Group 4 Competition
* Club Trophy: 1968 Aston Martin DBS
* Classic & Sports Car Trophy Saturday: 1967 Aston Martin DB6 Volante
* Classic & Sports Car Trophy Sunday: 1972 Marcos Mantis M70
* Junior Concours: Bugatti Type 13 Brescia
* Levitt Concours: 1955 Frazer Nash Le Mans Coupé
* 30 Under 30: 1981 Porsche 924
* Prince Michael of Kent Award: 1962 AC Shelby Cobra ‘CSX 2001’
* Chairman’s Award: 1937 Peugeot 302 DS Darl’Mat


Photographer James Brown was toting his usual pair of Leicas to capture some of the cars (and owners) on display in the grounds of the palace.

Photos by James Brown